Dirk and Wins Produced agree about the Finals MVP

In a recent interview, Dirk Nowitzki had this to say about being named the Finals MVP,

I don’t think that I played all that exceptionally in the finals. If we hadn’t played so well together as a team, it would have been disastrous. When the whistle blew to end the sixth and decisive game, blood rushed to my head. Without even thinking about what I was doing, I ran toward the locker room. […] I only know that many of our PR people ran after me. They yelled: “Stay here. You can’t do that. The trophy is going to be presented.” I said: “I don’t want it.” I got into the shower, pressed my face into a towel and began to cry. Then I heard them yelling again. “Dirk!” I said: “They should give it to someone else.” Not exactly worthy of a champion, is it?

The Wins Produced story agrees – the MVP trophy definitely should belong to someone else, specifically Dwayne Wade. (Shout to to Arturo for all of his great work during the entire NBA season, but especially during the Playoffs and Finals)

2 thoughts on “Dirk and Wins Produced agree about the Finals MVP

  1. Ben,
    Andrew at Sun and Gun has summed this up decently on twitter. By intentionally keeping award criteria vague the voters have given themselves an infinite out. Dirk wasn’t the best player in the finals but we’ll hear “He played sick and came up big!” or “He was the heart of the team” or “Take Dirk off that team and. . .”

    I think in this case and Paul Pierce’s case we can really just rename this to a lifetime achievement award. I will at least give the award makers this, by keeping it vague it lets us fans argue. That said I have very little respect for the voters in these matters as virtually no criteria they use seem to line up with the stories they sell.

Leave a Reply

